At Lincoln South Rotary Club on May 7, we met our three high school seniors selected to receive $1,000 scholarships from our Club.
The applications for our scholarships include the typical questions. In addition we asked the applicants to express their understanding of the Rotary Motto "Service Above Self".
Scholarships of $1,000 were awarded to these three individuals:
Madalynn Abele - Lincoln East
Plans to attend the University of Kansas, journalism major with an emphasis on strategic communication and a minor in film and media studies.
Madalynn stated that "I [have] learned that volunteering is more about the others we help than what we learn ourselves. Rotary’s “Service above self” motto reminds me that serving others in a community, in our own or somewhere else in the world, isn’t about us. We must always look to what we are doing [for others] rather than at ourselves ...
Sydney Gubbels - Pius X
Attending the University of Nebraska-Lincoln with major in secondary education-mathematics; further study to obtain her masters degree in education.
"As a future educator, I believe teaching is all about service." According to Gubbels, "No great teacher teaches for their self-fulfillment. Instead, they teach because they want to serve others and prepare the next generation of our world’s leaders."
Megan Haeffner - Lincoln Northeast
Plans to attend the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and pursue a degree in Forensic Biology; further study to earn a Master of Science in Physician Assistant Studies
"In medicine, your work is more than just a profession but rather, a service to the community." Per Megan, "You have the opportunity to connect with people from all walks of life, and influence their lives in a different way."
To see photos of the recipients and the May 7 presentation, including zoom photos with parents, click here.
Thank you to these Rotarians who assisted in selecting these scholarship recipients: Audrey Richert, Chair, Clay Ehlers, Mary Gilbride, Tom Cardwell, Tom Hyde. Jason Varga, Jim O'Hanlon, Don Rabbe and Michaela Williams. The evaluation form was developed by Sue Merrill.