Congratulations to Sam Rice and Karlie Van Meter who spoke to the Lincoln South Rotary Club on Friday May 10 after being awarded college scholarships from our Club. Click here for photos.
Sam Rice is from Pius X High School and plans to attend UNL with a major in media production. He hopes to own his own production company in the future. He said that Service Above Self is something that he learned at a young age. His earliest experience was serving at Matt Talbot Kitchen where the realities of the homeless hit hard seeing kids his age who did not know where their next meal would come from. He intends to continue to invest in people and causes that enrich Lincoln in college and beyond.
Karlie Van Meter is graduating from Lincoln East High School. Her plans include a major in Hospitality Management and a minor in Leadership and Communication in Business. Her college studies will start at UNL this fall. When she thinks about Service Above Self she believes it means that the reasoning behind our actions aren't for financial gain, publicity, awards or anything else involving self. It is to make an impact on, and improve, our community. She plans to continue to volunteer in the community.
We awarded a third scholarship to a student who was unable to attend due to a family medical appointment. Mujteba Al Hajaj is graduating from Lincoln North Star school and attending Nebraska Wesleyan in the pre-med program.
From Audrey - the Scholarship Chair:
The scholarship application included details on their educational and extra-curricular accomplishments, community involvement, leadership, and an essay on what our Rotary motto: Service Above Self means to them. 
When I took on chairing this committee, I thought “Sure, how hard can that be?  Just read a few applications and pick the best ones.  Boy, I couldn’t have been more wrong.
We had 31 applications, and all were worthy of the scholarships so it was a very challenging process to choose our winners with so many bright and outstanding students.   
I would like to thank the review committee for taking part in the selection process. Those members are:    
                                    Clay Ehlers
                                    Mary Gilbride
                                    Tom Hyde
                                    Don Rabbe
                                    DeEtta Vrana
                                    Sjohn Watson